Is This Your Restaurant? Claim It and Update Your Profile

Hank's Place

Hank's on Dale Mabry is a classic southern style quick service restaurant. They serve catfish, BBQ, and more.

View the full editorial review here.

Pictures of Hank's Place
325.jpg
325.jpg
326.jpg
327.jpg
328.jpg
Rate this listing
★★★★½
20 votes
Favoured:
1

Restaurant details

Address
8546 N Dale Mabry, Tampa, Florida, 33614
Neighborhood:Carrollwood
813.936.5555
Cuisine Served

Hank's Place Reviews (14)
byWillo

March 31, 2012

Me and my wife had a slab of ribs with cole slaw and Mac & cheese. Everything was great. The ribs are very tender and you really don't need to add any bbq sause. The Mac & chesse was not the best, but everything else was well worth the price!!!! Will definetly recoment to friends. Thanks Hank!
byFrank

February 22, 2012

This isn't catfish it's Vietnamese Swai fish. It's good but not catfish. The ribs are excellent.
byGene Blitch

January 28, 2012

Tried Hank's for first time on Fri Jan 27th...had catfish and shrimp..collard greens and cheese grits..great food..great country food...nothing fancy..served in a basket but great eating...we will return...
byButch

January 25, 2012

Perfect, been waiting for this for a long time. Thanks Hank. Be seeing y'all often. I and my family sampled everything on the menu all most, what we didn't were gonna get Thursday. Five full stars and then some.
byMel

January 5, 2012

Tried Hank's for the 1st time today and was pleasantly surprised at how good everything was after reading some "not so good" reviews. I had the 2 meat combo with ribs and fried catfish... I also tried the Mac n cheese, okra, fried pickles and collard greens...everything was delish!! I have been looking for this type of food in the Tampa bay area and hank's is by far the best I have come across! You should definitely check it out!!!
byCindy

November 26, 2011

This was the best bbq and fried catfish we've had in a long time! Better than Smokey Bones, Wholly Smokes and the like. Husband had the pulled pork, collard greens and fries. I had fried catfish, okra and tomatoes, and baked beans! Everything was done perfectly. Love the country atmosphere with picnic tables and all! :) If only they did Carolina Style BBQ!Lol!
byWillinator

November 18, 2011

I'm no fan of BBQ, but we decided to try it. Trish ordered the fried catfish, and it was perfectly prepared - excellent. She also got the collard greens and baked beans - also both great.

I got the ribs, and they were perfect. I find most ribs way too "smoky" - overwhelming with smoke flavor. They were moist, tender, and very flavorful. They have 3 different BBQ sauces, and we tried 'em all. All very good. I also had the mac & cheese - EXCELLENT, and the green beans - also excellent!

We wish Hanks Place all the best - all in all, a great start for a new restaurant!
byCrystal

November 13, 2011

My 2nd visit to Hanks was 100% better than the first. The 2 great minds are now on the scene, 2 seasoned cooks and 2 great business men. My ribs this time around were excellent. Tender and very tasty. I love the side sauce I chose, however, the ribs were awesome without it. I am a BBQ fan and I have to say they pulled it together. My friend and I loved our food this time. The catfish and hush puppies were good too. Perhaps it was a rough start but this past week was an awesome turn around. I have no doubt you will enjoy the food at Hanks. You have to have the right people in the right place.
bykim

November 10, 2011

Best catfish I've ever had! Too much food to finish. Prices were very reasonable. Love the country look! People were super nice. Must try!!
byLaurie

November 4, 2011

1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Portions were small, people at the registers didn't know their menu, Brunswick Stew was burnt, cole slaw was tasteless, not enough pulled pork on the bun. LOTS of work to be done to get this place up and running like a real BBQ joint.
byAmy

November 1, 2011

Great food, great service!
bySteven

October 28, 2011

On my way home last night, stopped by the liquor store across the street from Hanks, then decided to grab something from the drive thru. It was really nice being able to go to a drive thru , and not be fast food. I got the ribs, beans, and potato salad. The ribs were very good and tender. The potato salad was also good. The beans did need a little more flavor though. I did notice they also put some red beans in their baked beans. That did add a little flavor.
byMark B

October 28, 2011

1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Brisket was undercooked, yet still tough and rubbery. And cold. Fries were out of the freezer (c'mon, you can't cut your own potatoes?) and the beans were so so. Ribs my friend had were tough and chewy, though he said they tasted ok. Next morning it couldn't wait to get out of me. Stick with Bar-b-skew, good pulled pork.
bydoug

October 24, 2011

1 of 1 people found this review helpful
the brisket was as tough as leather, how do you mess up "slow cooking"?? way overpriced! I've had better bbq at Ponderosa. I noticed hank's "neon Peace sign" and thats what drove me in. Thinking I was walking into somewhere cool and hip, I was sorely dissappointed, don't think i'll be back anytime soon :/